top of page

REFLECTIONS

This year, I’ve taken some elements from the work I’ve done last year and modified them into a different style. I tried to create a mix between painting and installation, although I think, because of time constraints and lack of proper material, I’ve not succeeded in my work completely. I started out painting with acrylic on Masonite, which is notoriously difficult to shape as delicately as I need to, so many of my works are technically unfinished even though the painting process is finished. Finally, I realized I just didn’t have the time to work with Masonite, so I switched to simple cardboard/foamboard at the end, my last piece showing truly finished work.

On the actual meaning of the art work itself, I draw up inspiration from history. Specifically, the ignored, overlooked history of women. I’ve noticed for a while that in both mainstream paintings, history, and mythology, women only appear, if they even appear, as supporting characters or icons of beauty. Which is irritating and provides a lot of possibilities to look at interesting, but disregarded, female historical/mythological figures. Thus, as a way to acknowledge this ignored side of history, and find fascinating subject matter, I decided to focus on the women of history this year.

I will admit that I did not invest as much time into art as I could have. Art has always been more of a hobby than a passion, and therefore always comes second to academics for me. However, I did continue to Art 5 because I want to make art for at least one more year before I’m immersed in pure academics in college, so I suppose I let go of more difficult endeavors (specifically in the history field) to take art. But, in general, I did spend hours into the night on whole weekends working on my projects/artist studies.

I would’ve planned a senior art show, if I could re do the past year. I originally did not want to do one because I thought I would not have enough time or energy to commit. However, after attending many other art shows, I realized how cool it would have been to have one. I would’ve left the art program with more of a bang than I actually had, more of a sense of satisfaction.

I used to be terrified of painting because I thought it would take too long to understand how to properly use acrylic paint. Technically, I still don’t know how to paint traditionally (such as what techniques to use and whatnot) because I was never formally taught and figured out how to paint (as I’ve learned anything artistic) on my own. This, learning the ability to paint well and not fall back on the comfort of simply drawing, is what I’m proud of out of everything I’ve done in DRHS Art.

The thing I enjoyed most at DRHSART was the art history. After all, I’m an academic at heart, and history appeals to me a bit more slightly than actual art. I really loved learning how to analyze Renaissance work and its symbolism, as well as learning a bit more of mythology (Christian and Etruscan/Greek alike). I wish my class could’ve finished the Baroque age, but that idea is futile now.

All in all, some advice for future students: You should want to commit extra hours to art, and you should realize that practice is the only thing that would get them successful art. And don’t procrastinate, especially on artist studies. But if you do or are super late, make sure to go the extra mile (or 3) if you want a good grade.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page